Let the Wild Rumpus Begin!

Standard

One of the best children’s books ever –

Maurice Sendak’s Where the Wild Things Are.   Love. Love. Love.

Though Max’s imaginative wild rumpus occurs on his very own island with wild creatures conjured up by his wonderful imagination, this rumpus will be somewhat smaller, yet no less extraordinary.

It is the end of another year and before facing 2011, another birthday, the final term of school, and going back to work, it is time to take  a moment to reflect.    This little blog began last July as an exploration of thoughts and ideas through the process and practice of writing.  Always one to try to see the lesson in all things I’ve explored memories, personal adventures in yoga, deeper lessons learned through yoga, and shared lessons learned from my wonderful students.

So far….Loving the Blog.

The bonus from all of this (if I may toot my own horn)?  An early Christmas present arrived in my inbox just before the holidays, an offer to co-author a few articles with a friend (and author).  How freakin’ cool is that?!?

[insert my version of Snoopy’s happy dance here]

In the meantime, the New Year is swiftly approaching and I have been struggling to create a post that is just right for the occasion (hrmph, some writer….).   Personally I gave up on the whole idea of resolutions long ago – my inability to accomplish resolutions just made me feel like a complete flop.   Moving towards a more authentic approach, ‘non-resolutions’ are now the way to go in my book.   [Non-Resolutions because they are not goals to be achieved (eg. lose 10 pounds, pay off debt, etc.), but ways to direct thoughts or behaviours].

Months ago I stumbled upon a post reminding us of things we should know about ourselves.  The list is brief, just 10 points.  And the list is complete.   The list is my ideal set of ‘Non-Resolutions’.    Click the following text to go to that particular post:  10 Things I Wish You Knew About Yourself.

Moving into 2011, let’s take the lead from Max and his wild friends…have the courage to not only move forward but to create the life we imagine for ourselves, believing in ourselves and each other, keeping family and home close to our hearts.

Wishing you the happiest of New Years, YOU are amazing!

Now ‘Let the Wild Rumpus Begin!’.

7 responses »

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention oh the sweet anticipation! -- Topsy.com

  2. This was a really thoughtful post and makes the most sense of all New Year’s resolutions or non-resolutions. I enjoyed it and am going to study your Yoga posts because I’m thinking of starting it. Thanks for stopping by my site today and commenting!

Leave a Reply

